On The Edge

For those who are interested, a further word about the (sl1 wyif, k1) edging. (If anybody knows what this stitch is called, please let me know!) If you are adding it to an existing pattern, you will need to cast on four more stitches than the pattern calls for, as the edging is worked over the first two and last two stitches of each row row. Here is an example of the edging on garter stitch: Front of work, edge, and back of work.

Abbreviations: 
Sl1 - slip one stitch purlwise from the left to the right needle without working it.
wyif - with yarn in front of the work as if to purl.

At the beginning of the row, keep the working yarn on the purl side (front) of the work, slip the first stitch purlwise, then move the working yarn to the knit side (back of the work) and knit the next stitch. Proceed with the row as written in the pattern until two stitches remain.

With two stitches remaining, move the working yarn to the front of the work, slip one stitch purlwise, move the yarn to the back of the work, and knit the last stitch. (You are, in essence, wrapping the working yarn around the front of the slipped stitch.)

I suspect this stitch might be a narrow version of an I-cord edging. That’s the edging I used on both edges of this shawl.

Author: WOL

My burrow, "La Maison du Hibou Sous Terre" is located on the flatlands of West Texas where I live with my computer, my books, and a lot of yarn waiting to become something.

2 thoughts on “On The Edge”

  1. Interesting, it does look like an i-cord. Hard for me to figure out the mechanism behind it without trying out for myself, so maybe it’s time to get my knitting needles out of the attic…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.