A Red Lettuce Day*

Bright and early this morning, I sat down to knit with two repeats left on my Cobblestones and Lace shawl in the light blue.  I was finished with it before 11 o’clock.  I’m very pleased with the way this revised version turned out, and this revision of the pattern is the final one.

 

There it is all complete with the ends woven in and the lifelines pulled out.  (It still needs to be blocked, though.)  I’ll get to show it off tonight at knitting group.

I think now I will concentrate on the two semicircular shawls I’m working on, the one in Lion Brand Homespun “Yosemite” which is now a good deal further along than it was in this picture.  I need to get it to a radius of 20 inches so I can start knitting on the border, a nice wide one which will hopefully straighten out the marked tendency of stockinette to curl.

And then there’s this one in Caron Simply Soft “Ocean,” which is a modification of this pattern. and has languished on my computer desk for lo, these many weeks.  It’s about three times the size shown here, which isn’t saying much.  The main modification I made to this one is to put a different lace on the edge, one that hopefully won’t have to be blocked.  It’s getting moved back to the knitting nook, because I need to start knitting chemo hats again — finishing up the ones I’ve gotten started (and which have languished unfinished all summer) and starting some more. They go pretty fast.

I’m still waiting on the doctor’s report on the MRI I had of my knee two weeks ago.  Being a government agency, the VA never does anything in a timely manner. . . . The wheels of bureaucracy grind slowly. . .

*”A Red Lettuce Day” — John Lennon’s version of “a red letter day,” from his book, “In His Own Write.”

Author: WOL

My burrow, "La Maison du Hibou Sous Terre" is located on the flatlands of West Texas where I live with my computer, my books, and a lot of yarn waiting to become something.

One thought on “A Red Lettuce Day*”

  1. That cobblestone and lace shawl’s pretty. I hope the group appreciated it properly. As for the bureaucracy, as long as the wheels are grinding, it’s all good. On the other hand, I suspect that after two weeks you’re a touch interested in what they found. If cage-rattling’s necessary, have at it.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.