Tags

, , , ,

I finally decided that I wasn’t going to get around to finishing that last lap robe, and it’s already so hot out that I don’t even want to visualize the concept, never mind make one.  Wednesday, in a mighty burst of energy, I did four washer loads (wash, dry, fold up, put away – except for the microfleece blanket that is still in the dryer needing to be folded up, and the stuff that’s on hangers, which is still hanging on the clothes rack in the laundry room.).  Then I ran my comforter through the “air” cycle on the dryer, got out my clothes drying rack and put my comforter over it and Fabreezed it within an inch of its life, and left it to air in the only clear space at that end of the duplex, which is right in front of the front door.  I bench pressed my sewing machine back up on the closet shelf, folded the table up and put it under the bed. Now I’m exhausted and have a big spoon deficit besides, figuratively as well as literally. (All my actual spoons are in the dishwasher — since my silverware drawer contains two complete place settings for 8, I apparently consumed a lot of stuff that had to be eaten with spoons this week.)

My mom keeps getting on my case about drinking so much sweet tea, but here’s the thing:  1 teaspoon of sugar has 16 calories.  My little scoop holds four teaspoons.  The tea pitcher I use holds a gallon.  When I make tea, I use 5 teabags and 3 scoops of sugar for a whole pitcher of tea.  That works out to 192 calories per gallon of tea. and it takes me a day or two to drink the whole pitcher (and it’s usually half watered down by ice when I do — That’s another thing she’s on my case about, me not drinking enough water . . .).  One of those little bottles of white peach juice that’s supposed to be so good and healthy for you (and which contains high fructose corn syrup, I might point out) has 160 calories in 10 ounces!  I can belt one of those babies back in 30 seconds.  So, compare 15 calories in 10 ounces of my sweet tea to the 160 calories in 10 ounces of the peach juice.  So, a 16 oz glass that’s half full of tea, with 8 ice cubes in it (and the ice cube trays I use, 8 ice cubes = 1 cup of water by the way), and no, I’m not drinking too much sweet tea.

I think part of it was that my dad’s tea was never sweet enough for him unless about half an inch of sugar had settled out of it into the bottom of the glass — I do not exaggerate —  and every time I say “sweet tea” that’s what she thinks of.  She puts saccharin in her tea, which is made from coal tar, BTW, commonly manufactured by combining anthranilic acid (used among other things as a corrosive agent for metal) with nitrous acid, sulfur dioxide, chlorine, and ammonia, and that’s so much healthier for you. (Yes, that’s right.  Chlorine and ammonia.)

Anyway, the mystery of the knocked over sidewalk light was finally solved.  I’d look out and see it was knocked over, go out and put it back on the little peg, look out a while later, and it was knocked over again.  This went on for days.  It may have either gotten accidentally kicked, or the yard guys may have hit it with the strimmer while edging the sidewalk, but the end of the stake got a crack up one side.  Duct taped that sucker.  Sorted.  One of these days when I have the energy, I need to redo the edging bricks.  And weed.  But there’s no point in weeding until I get some bedding plants.  I want hardy perennials that do well in partial shade because that bed only gets sun during the first half of the day.

Inexplicably, I have two volunteer rose bushes.  A tenant a couple of tenants ago loved roses and had a rose garden in that bed, and these are probably growing out of the root stock of tea roses he had planted whose grafts died.   They are probably this one really hardy species of red climbing roses (“Dr. Huey”) as that is what is very commonly used as a root stock for tea rose grafts.   Anyway, there’s this little one (above) and the big one closer to the porch, with the hose/pipe for scale.  Neither has bloomed yet so I don’t know for sure they’re red climbers.  Maybe I’ll luck out and they’ll be pink climbers, or white ones.  Who knows.  I might get some cinderblock pavers this time if I see what I want at a good price, to put by the faucets so I’ll have a place to stand to turn the water on and off.  I probably better start watering.  I need to buy a couple weed and feed things this time.  If I can get the Bermuda grass going, it will strangle out most of the weeds.  If I thought I was going to live in this duplex for more than a couple of years, I’d be more pro-yard than I am.  Also if I had more spoons . . .

In the knitting news, I’ve tackled mosaic knitting, which is a form of two-color knitting that uses slipped stitches.  This is a hat with a rolled brim that I’m working on.  The base yarn is variegated and the contrast colors are white and black.  I think it’s turning out nicely.  This is not the same kind of color work as Fair Isle, which is a bit different, and not actually what I’m into.  If I want to follow diagrams, I’ll do needlepoint, thank you.

I found this and I want to use it in a “Dance Like an Egyptian” hat.  I’m kind of into pillbox hats now, thinking about how to do one.   I might do one with three rows of these on the brim done in two color work.  I have some ideas, but I have to finish the above hat first, and maybe do another hat I’ve been thinking about.   Don’t know.

Found this the other day, and just about went orgasmic over it.  I believe I can get enough detail out of it to work out how it’s done. Just too cool for words.

My next thing is going to be learning how to do two-color work while holding both colors in my left hand at the same time.  Goalz.  I haz dem.

The next item on the agenda, however, is lunch.  I think I hear some chicken noodle soup calling my name, and maybe some toast and peanut butter . . . . .

We’re having yoyo weather, as you can see, except what’s showing as “today” below is actually yesterday.

