Tags

, , , , ,

My lawn is greening up.  Some of the green is actually grass.  I’m debating about getting two thingies of “weed and feed” – a combination herbicide and fertilizer that comes in a device you attach to the hose(pipe).  The device mixes the stuff with water and then you spray it on your lawn. The back yard needs it more than the front.  That poor back yard needs all the help it can get.

Guess which is the greenest thing back there.  Yep.  That ^&*($%!@#@!%* honey locust tree.  It’s leafing out just beautifully.  I see a couple of low branches that need pruning, however.  If somebody who’s 64 inches (1.62 m) tall has to duck under them to get to the gate, then they are way too low.  Taking the garbage out is enough of a chore already without having to thrash through the jungle to get to the back gate.

It was raining earlier (Yay!)– and making a big production out of it, full of sound and fury, signifying very little water actually falling from the sky, alas.  Still there was enough to wet things down.  Hopefully, the rain will wash some of the pollen out of the air.  Between the grass pollen and the tree pollen, this weekend is going to be a bitch, allergy wise, if you’ll pardon my Anglo-Saxon.  The grass pollen makes me sneeze and stuffs me up, but the tree pollen just zombifies me.  The tree pollen has been very high for days now and I ended up not going to knitting group yesterday because I’d already glunked out* twice in the chair while I was trying to read, and then at about 5 p.m., I just hit a proverbial wall.   I was able to muster barely enough brain wattage to shuffle into the bedroom and crawl into bed.  Schmpft.

What many people don’t know is that chronic fatigue can be a symptom of allergies.  I don’t need allergy alerts from the Weather Channel to tell me when there’s tree pollen in the air.  Zombification sets in unperpetrated by the usual suspects, and when I can manage to get three brain cells to work at the same time, I know we are having tree pollen.

There is a volunteer bearded iris (left) in the back yard which is gearing up to bloom.  Ill be interested to find out what flavor it is.  A pair of what looked to be college boys did the yard this time.  Thankfully, they didn’t get happy with the weed wacker (strimmer) and give the poor thing a shave.

I’m not sure what that is growing behind it.  I need to peer over the fence and see if this is something else my neighbor is growing that’s also sneaking under the fence into my yard, or whether it’s an interloper.

In the top picture, you can see one of the piles of fireplace wood that’s too durn old and weathered to burn even if I didn’t have the fireplace glassed off. And anyway if I did burn it, then I’d have a great whacking pile of ashes I’d have to clear out of the fireplace and schlep out to the Dumpster . . . and dust from it all over everywhere . . . . I need to get out my little red Radio Flyer wagon and haul all that wood out to the alley.  Maybe I could plant a bush there.  Something that blooms and attracts butterflies. . . .

The roses in the front bed (above and at right) are going nuts.  Both are bursting with leaves and blooms.  I’ve started saving tea bags as they say “prebrewed” tea is good for roses.  Hope it helps the black spot, which both bushes have.  Coal dust is supposed to be good for black spot as well, but it’s kind of hard to come by in this part of the world this century.  Part of the problem is that the roses don’t get enough sun.  They are planted against an east-facing wall and only get half a day of sunshine.   The pink one is further out in the yard and gets a bit more sun.  Both of them need to be cut back and staked this winter.  I would have done it last winter, but I had a plateful already.

That bed needs plants that need morning sun and partial shade.  They should be perennials that are tough, hardy, drought and heat tolerant and can stand up to Bermuda grass.  It needs at least three different kinds of plants that grow to three different heights — low, medium and tall.  I need to call that Hispanic couple that weeded the bed before and see if they’ll do it again.  Then after stuff is planted, the bed needs to be rather thickly mulched to keep down the weeds and grass.

I still need to paint the lamposts.  I also want to get some of those red reflectors and some stakes for them and put them along the eastern edge of the driveway.  I still have a hard time hitting the house from the west.

In the knitting news, I got another Coriolis hat finished and now I’m working on a “hand grenade hat” in a Red Heart yarn called “Gumdrop – Smoothie” The yarn has a nice soft hand and is 100% acrylic, which makes it good for chemo hats.  It’s a cheerful, colorful yarn, I think.  I’m going to do this pattern in the two other Gumdrop colors I have, Grape and Cherry.  Something for everyone.

Spring? Jump?  Close enough for government work.  A blast from the past, anyway. . .

*glunk out —  You are growing sleepy … very sleepy . . . your eyelids are becoming very heavy . . . you cannot keep your eyes open. . . 
