Tags

, , , ,

dscf2504A dear friend, AS, teaches university-level percussion at Texas Tech and has for many years.  On the side, he has a jazz combo for which he plays — wait for it — drums.  On the first Sunday of every month, his combo usually plays downtown at a “bistro” called La Diosa, which is in the “Depot District”  His combo was supposed to play this Sunday so my mom and our friend CK swooped by after church and picked me up and off we went downtown to hear them play and eat lunch.

dscf2505Downtown, where the courthouse and the jail and the police department, etc., are located, is kind of on the northeast edge of town.  In the organic way towns grow, ours has grown south and west.  1st Street is about 10 streets north of the courthouse, what would have been 11th street is Main Street, and what would have been 12th street is Broadway, and I think we’re up to 158th Street now.

dscf2500When my parents first moved there in 1950, we lived on 8th Street, and 34th Street was pretty much out in the sticks (numbered streets go east/west, lettered and named streets go north/south).  Then we moved to 40th Street, which is about 30 east/west streets south and about 40 north/south streets west of the courthouse, and the north/south street to the west of us wasn’t even paved.  Anyway.  The area between the downtown area and Tech was the first residential area of the town.  When I attended Tech, I enrolloed in a college and graduated from a university, and that area was known as the College Ghetto because it had become mostly rent property, rented to college kids.

dscf2503That area has now undergone sweeping redevelopment — hundreds of those old houses were razed, including the one we lived in when we first moved there, and apartment blocks and town houses, shopping areas and restaurants, etc., were built.  Streets were renamed.  Our humble little 8th Street is now Glenna Goodacre Boulevard.  6th Street has been renamed Mac Davis Lane,  Avenue G is now Crickets Avenue, and Avenue H is now Buddy Holly Avenue. (what would have been Avenue I has always been Texas Avenue).  Anyway, that end of town just south of the courthouse was formerly a business area and was where the train station was, back when we still had passenger service.  After that was discontinued, the train depot went through several incarnations including a restaurant.  It’s now the Buddy Holly Center and museum.  There’s an old cinema that’s been renovated into a playhouse, and various old business buildings have been repurposed into pubs, restaurants, antique shops and whatnot.   That little bit of town is now known as the “Depot District.”  La Diosa is in a repurposed building, part of which used to be an automotive repair shop.

dscf2506Because it’s down in that end of town, where there is a heavy “university” presence, the Depot District tends to be a touch “artsy fartsy”

Anyway, here a table with me, my 92-year-old mother, and couples from the generations in between (at left), in amongst the mimosa at brunch dscf2501crowd waiting to hear AS’s combo play.  Turns out somebody called in sick, and the combo didn’t play.   In the meantime, we had all ordered from the menu.  My mom and I had what amounted to a Burger King Croissant’wich, except the egg was fried instead of scrambled, the ham was prosciutto, and it cost about five times as much.  However, it was topped with jalapeño jelly, which a Croissant’wich isn’t.  She had a mimosa, I had white wine, as I’m allergic to oranges.

dscf2499You’ll notice among the artwork in the photographs I took that there are a pair of  nice portraits of Mexican artist Frida Kahlo. I make note because I told my mom I was going to blog about our little outing, and because she’d never figure out how to spell Kahlo’s name to google her. My mom had never heard of Diego Rivera either.

I wasn’t thinking and neglected to put my camera in my bag, so these pictures were taken with my mom’s camera.

Anyway, we may try again next month.  Maybe we’ll get lucky.  If we do, I may try the crepes.

This afternoon, I made a bowl of tuna salad and a bowl of chicken salad, both with mini-elbow macaroni.  Before I put the macaroni in the tuna salad, I made a couple of tuna salad sandwiches which are chilling in the fridge.  I’ll have one for supper and the other for tomorrow.  I will be well fortified for the upcoming week.  I’m going to start raking locust beans out of the back yard.

At some point here soon, the yard guy is going to want to scalp the lawn.  The variety of Bermuda grass we have here dies off in the fall.  Typically, before it comes back out again in spring, one “scalps” one’s yard, i.e., sets one’s mower blades very low and mows all the old, dead growth off, which allows the new growth to proliferate when it emerges.  There’s so many beans in the back yard that it would be impossible for the yard guy to scalp the back yard, and my landlady doesn’t pay him to rake beans. If I want grass in the back, guess who gets to remove the locust beans . . .  That locust tree also needs seeing to.  I bought a bow saw a couple of weeks ago to do a little neatifying of the tree and removal of some low branches that impede the opening of the back gate.  I also got a garbage can on wheels.  I’ve already got rakes.  I’ll bring my Radio Flyer wagon out back and spread lawn and leaf bags out over the wagon bed to rake the beans into.  A simple matter to tie off the full bags, pull the wagon out to the dumpster and put the bag in.

