Tags

, , ,

screenshot_9 Hot enough, in fact, that I ended up turning the AC on.  Well, out here in the flatlands they do say, if you don’t like the weather, wait a while.  It’ll change.   For the metric crowd, those highs are 32 C, 33 C and 34 C. . .

screenshot_10Again, for the metric crowd, 32 F is 0 C. Needless to say, the heater is back on.

screenshot_11Like the man said the other day, “Ain’t nothin’ but a bob war* fence ‘tween us and the North Pole, and it’s down.”  Below is what tomorrow’s and Wednesday’s forecast looks like.

screenshot_13

Got to looking and we’re at 33°34’N latitude, Casablanca, Morocco is 33°32′ N (which puts it about 5 miles further south than we are) and Baghdad (Iraq) is at 33°20′ N, (about 20 miles further south than we are).  This puts most of Texas further south than either one.

screenshot_12 A while ago, I got an el cheapo 10-inch Android tablet and a really great tablet holder for the purpose of ereading, and me and the fat(cat)boy were hanging out in bed most of today tucked in all nice and snuggly under the covers.  I was reading the eARC** of the new Liaden Universe novel, The Gathering Edge, by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, which continues the story arc of Theo Waitley and the AI ship Bechimo.  Space Opera at its finest.  I was reading along at a good clip, with the fat(cat)boy snoring and twitching at my side, when this tremendous clap of thunder hit.  After we peeled ourselves off the ceiling, a check out the window disclosed that we were having a rain event.

I decided I couldn’t wait for a set of my US 10 (6.0 mm) 60-inch circular needles to get freed up, and ordered a ChiaoGoo Red Lace 60-inch US 9 (5.5 mm) circular needle. (I love the ChiaoGoo Red Lace needles!)   I have a feeling that just about the time I get my reader’s shrug all knitted up, I’ll have to turn the AC back on. . . .

*”bob war” – Texican for “barbed wire”
**eARC — electronic Advance Reader’s Copy — what amounts to the page proofs in e-book form.

 

