Tags

, , ,

img_0003We had a lovely Christmas dinner at my mom’s (far left), with our dear friends C & DK, and my BFF (not pictured).  My mom had ham and cheesy potatoes, and CK brought a dish with peas, mushrooms and cream of mushroom soup, and a cold salad, and we had wine.  It was so much fun to sit and visit.  We had the traditional “Two Dolls Under The Tree” photograph — now in its 13th year.

I had done a buttoned neck warmer for CK and a man cowl for DK for their xmas presents.  I did not get the hat that matched the cowl finished, but as it turned out,  he is not a knitted hat wearer.  He has a cloth cap he got in Ireland, and various brimmed hats that he prefers.  I’ll go ahead and finish the hat anyway but I’ll donate it to the bunch who provide knitted and crocheted hats for people who’ve lost their hair from chemotherapy, so it’ll all work out.

When I left to go to my mom’s, the garage door remote didn’t work and  I had to get out of the car, close the garage door using the wall switch, go through the house, and come out through the front door.  However, since I don’t plan to go anywhere until Thursday, this is the last time I’ll have to do that! — Because this past Friday the lady from Overhead Door called and said there had been a cancellation on the afternoon of the 27th, and would I like to have that appointment? Yes, please! So, Tuesday afternoon!

This morning, I just decided I would have a nice long lie-in and sleep until I got tired of it.  Felt so good.  When I woke up again, I lay there and thought about my desktop leaning against the sofa, and the glass for the fireplace leaning against the china cabinet, and then I thought about sitting at the computer listening to music, reading blogs and knitting, and guess what won out?  I am going to have to get up here in a minute, though, because my carafe of tea is empty and I think I may hear a ham sandwich calling my name . . .

In the knitting news, I wrote two more buttoned cowl/neck warmer patterns, one for my landlady, and one for my cousin-in-law’s mother who turned 94 this past year.   I think I’m about cowled out for now.  I still have a hat to finish for C.J. Cherryh’s wife, and both sets to mail Thursday, which is the next day I have to be out and about.

I’ve got to go out Friday also.  My landlady is out of town until Thursday, and I think Friday I’ll call her and see if I can bring by her cowl, some receipts from the yard lights she’ll need for her taxes, and her new garage door opener remote(!).  I think it’s a good idea for her to have one, like if something should happen while I’m away on a trip, she can get in easily and take care of it.

My alarm clock died, and I had to get a new one.  I like a dual alarm clock — that way, I can keep one alarm set at 9:00 a.m. but can set the other if I need to get up at some other time.  Also, if I’ve got someplace to be at a certain time later in the day, I can set that second alarm so I don’t always have to be watching the clock to check if it’s time to get ready to go.  Got this one, which I’m really liking.  The LED display is not lighted, so I don’t have to turn it face down to hide the light like I did on the other one (I had it stuck behind a picture on my dresser).  But, when this one’s alarm goes off, the face lights up for a few seconds as an additional “alarm.” It’s battery operated, so it’ll still work if the power goes off.

I definitely hear a ham sandwich calling my name.  I’d better go see what it wants.

