Tags

, , , ,

When the alarm went off this morning, I struggled out from under the covers, scampered over to the dresser and turned it off (that’s psychology), then dived right back into bed, turned the light back off and went back to sleep.  Hey, it’s Saturday.  Lie ins are allowed on Saturday, so hush!  When I finally got up at 1:30 this afternoon, the wind was buffeting the house and rattling the exhaust hood vent on the stove, and hooting down the vent that has to be there because the furnace is gas powered.  At 2 p.m., I gingerly stuck my hand out the smallest possible opening in the storm door to get the mail, and a gust of wind blew up my sleeve and it was 20 F (-6.66 C) out there!!!

Winter storm Decima, they’re calling it.  It’s already caused a 55-car pile up in Baltimore that killed 2 people outright and put a bunch more in the hospital, and the north and northeast are getting hammered.  We started out the day with 100% humidity (we were at 20% yesterday . . .), but it’s been falling steadily and we’re not getting any precipitation here to speak of.  The southern edge of the storm has dumped some light snow up by Amarillo and the Oklahoma panhandle and they’ve had mixed rain/snow as far south as Plainview, which is less than 50 miles north of us, but so far, we’ve been spared all but the cold.  The wind is blowing pretty steadily at 25 mph with gusts of up to 40 mph (40 kph to 64 kph). Supposed to get down to 10 F (-12 C) tonight.

The office is the warmest room in the house, having only one outside wall.  The living room and the back bedroom have two outside walls.  The living room has the fireplace, but the bedroom has that whacking great glass door along the back wall.    The thought has actually crossed my mind of buying a couple of foam insulation panels and cutting them to fit into the frame of that durn sliding glass door in the bedroom.  It’s single pane, and not weather tight. At the very least, I may can get some of those self adhesive door sweeps to put along the edge of the fixed glass panel outside where it lies along the actual sliding door part.  If I can get them to stay on, that might be the way to go. Thoroughly cleaning and drying the surface of the door frame before I apply the adhesive portion might do the trick.

While I was on the Home Depot website just now, I discovered I can get a precut piece of glass 30 x 36 x 0.125 inches for $17.  It will fit almost exactly over the fire place opening.  I’ve got some foam weatherstripping tape that goes on the kerfed edge on the inside of a door frame (which blocks light as well as cold air . . .).  I’ll  run a length of it down the long edge of the glass for the glass to rest on, and then run some on the inside surface along the side and top edges for it to lean against, and that should seal up the fireplace opening right nicely.  If pushing the fireplace screen up against the glass does not hold it tight enough against the brick to seal, I may have to tape it in place with some clear packing tape.  I shall definitely have to make a special side trip by Home Depot on my way home from my test Tuesday.

And if you think that I’m getting a bit extreme on my “winterizing,” I would like to point out that what keeps out the cold in winter will also keep in the cool in summer . . .  Every kilowatt of electricity and cubic foot of natural gas I don’t use cooling and heating this house is electricity and gas I don’t have to pay for, which is just as fine as frog hairs with me . . .

It’s suppose to warm back up into the 60’s F (15+ C) by Tuesday, which is when I have to go out again, but our lows will be freezing or near freezing every night next week.  On Tuesday’s agenda, as it currently stands, is to go to my test (I have to be there by 8:30 a.m.), and then after my test, out to Petsmart for cat litter, over to Walmart to fill up my car with gas, by my mom’s to wrench her hoses off and put her styrofoam dealies on her outside spigots, then up to Home Depot for glass and some door sweeps, and then home again, home again . . .

While ago, when I went to put some more magnetic strips along the side of the blackout curtain to hold it tighter to the side of the door frame, there was definitely a draft of very cold air.  There’s a little tiled area in front of the door.  Fortunately I have kept the set of rug runners from when I had 3 cats and two of them barfed on a daily basis. (I put them alongside my bed — the hocking would wake me up and I’d shove them off the bed.  Easier to wash a rug runner than clean cat urp up off a comforter or wall-to-wall carpet.)  I laid the runners on the frigid tile and that has helped also.

2016_12_17-01In the knitting news, I lack 6 rows of finishing the Cowl from the Blue Lagoon, and will be casting on the hat tonight.  I probably will have it finished by tomorrow and can start casting on another cowl in the Homespun Yarn, color “Wild Fire” on these smaller needles, whatever size they are — I’m convinced they’re not US10’s(6.0 mm).  They may be US8’s (5.0 mm). At some point, I need to get my needle gauge out and actually see what size they are, but I’m not motivated to get up and dig it out just at the moment.  I ought to get it out and keep it in my little notions bag with my other knitting accoutrements that I carry in the tote bag I take to knitting group. . .

The doorbell plonged this afternoon to let me know I got my ChiaoGoo Red Lace US10 (6.0 mm) 16-inch circular needles.  The ChiaoGoo Red Lace circular needles are connected by a twisted cable made of very fine wires (like twisted jewelry chain) that is then coated with transparent red plastic. The needles that are connected by nylon cord all too often have a mind of their own, especially the longer ones.  They are sproingy and hard to keep from coiling up on you, especially when they’re cold. The ChiaoGoo cables are very flexible, not stiff at all, and will not curl regardless of the temperature — even the 60-inch long needles.  The needles are made of surgical grade steel.  Even so, they are competitively priced and significantly cheaper than some of the “snob” needles sold here in the States.  One of the ladies at knitting group has some Addi Turbos, which are right pricy.  I tried them and didn’t like them nearly as well as I like the ChiaoGoos.  I’ll be buying more of them in more lengths and sizes as funding permits.

