Tags

, , ,

There’s a pint of Häagen-Dazsdulce de leche” flavor ice cream in the freezer which I may not eat until I have cleaned up the “company” bathroom.  That’s the carrot. It will happen probably Sunday.  In the meantime, I’m knocking off the little jobs one by one.  I will likely be spending all day Wednesday on my knees washing the kitchen floor.  I’m having a birthday party for my mom on the evening of 23 September, and all must be in readiness, shipshape and Bristol fashion!

In the meantime, I’ve read the new October Daye book, Once Broken Faith, by Seanan McGuire, which is so new she hasn’t got it up on her website yet. — This series has a strong female protagonist with agency, magic, the fae, San Francisco, and the king of the Cait Sidhe is named Tibalt.  What’s not to like?   I heartily recommend the series.

From the horse’s mouth, I’ve learned there will be three more books in the Foreigner series by C. J. Cherryh, and I’m very chuffed about that.  This is an excellent series.  Cherryh builds amazing worlds and peoples them with well-rounded, engrossing characters.  The Foreigner series is one of her best, and there’s 18 books in the series so far.

I also read Old Man’s War by John Scalzi just because I hadn’t ever read any of his books, and because I like the man and the causes he espouses within the literary world.  However, I won’t be reading any of the others in the series.  While Scalzi writes good books, he doesn’t write the kind I like to read. What can I say except chacun à son goût?  Old Man’s War is very much in the Heinlein tradition, and I don’t care for Heinlein either.

img_0002In the knitting news, I’ve finished two WOL’s Owl Cowls, and have started on the first of the two matching Owl Hats for my first cousin’s daughter and granddaughter.  They’re both made from Loops & Threads’ Charisma yarn, which is so very soft.

img_0001 img_0005I also finished the man cowl I’m making for my friend JT.  It’s made from Lion Brand Yarn’s Homespun Thick and Quick (color “Pearls”) which, while it has a nice hand, is the devil to knit up because of the way it’s made.  It turned out nicely, though, I thought with cables and ribbing in between.  I was really proud of the way the ribbing worked out.  I’m calling it “JT’s Cabled Man Cowl” in his honor.

I need to draw a diagram of how to put on and take off these tight fitting cowls without mussing your hair.  You grab them from the back, put that hand under your chin, and pull the front up and over the top of your head.  To remove them, you simply grasp it under your chin and pull it up and over your head.  The trick is always to pull it up and over from the chin.  This pulls it on and off in the same direction.

We had a brief spasm of excitement yesterday afternoon.  When I brought in yesterday’s mail, there was a moth secreted among the circulars who waited until I brought it inside to go fluttering about. (Moths are known in the family argot as “blumblumlies” because that’s what I decided they were when I was three years old.)  The fat(cat)boy was en garde in an instant and promptly went ballistic, chasing it up onto the dresser by the front window and into the window blinds.  He  stunned it, knocked it to the ground, pounced on it and promptly ate it before I could get to him to prevent it.  Obviously, his portly is a lot more portable than you’d think to look at him.   I waited all evening for him to barf it up, but he retained possession and remains unrepentant.

