Tags

,

Mom and I are going to have a garage sale Saturday.  The lumbering juggernaut has already been set in motion.  I spent most of the day over at my mom’s schlepping stuff into the garage.  We have the market cornered in lamps.  There are probably 12 of them, 6 from my downsizing, not counting the ones I sold before I moved.  Another 4 or 5 left over from the mortal coil that was shuffled off when two longtime family friends went on to where ever it is we go to from here. My mom has an incredible accumulation of stuff from 70 odd years of being the compleat hostess.  A coffee pot from the dim recesses of the 1950s emerged.  If anything over 50 years old is classified as an antique, that makes two of us!

I’ve got service for 12 of Noritake Aquarius pottery, plus serving pieces, for sale (still).  It was my wedding china pattern, and I actually got 12 place settings plus serving pieces as wedding presents, except I got 13 dinner plates and traded the odd plate in on a salt and pepper shaker set.  I stored it all away when I got the Churchill blue willow ware at the local Skaggs-Albertson’s store back in the 1980’s.  This was before they divorced and Albertsons got custody of our stores.  They gave you stamps in incremental amounts depending on how much you spent on groceries — the more you spent, the more stamps you got.  When you filled in a card with stamps, you could get a place setting for $3.98.  They offered serving pieces (covered casseroles, serving bowls, butter dish, gravy boat, salt and pepper shakers, sugar bowl, coffee and tea pots, etc.) for sale at regular price so you could fill in your set.  I filled in my set.  I’ve got service for 12 in the Churchill, too.  I figured I’m going to use it for the rest of my life, get plenty while the getting’s good to allow for attrition (touch wood!). . .

My mom, bless her heart, has a very low “unsightliness” threshold.  She will get bent out of shape if the yard guy comes and does three or four yards in the block and leaves his unsightly trailer with all it’s unsightly lawn care paraphernalia parked in the street for most of an afternoon.  (Woe betide him if he parks it near or at my mom’s house!) So this afternoon, she was filling me in on the latest skirmish in the ongoing war against unsightliness in the neighborhood.  It appears that somebody left a Target shopping cart between my mom’s house and the house next door (where an elderly, ailing, widowed Hispanic man lives).  The Target Store is about 6 blocks away, and no telling how the cart got there between the houses in the first place.  However, my mom and the lady across the street got their knickers in a knot because of this unsightly item between the houses that sat there being unsightly for several days.  Finally, unable to tolerate the unsightliness of this shopping cart on the next door neighbor’s property, mind you, the lady across the street got her husband’s pickup, backed it into my mom’s driveway, and the two of them lifted the shopping cart into the truck bed (no easy feat!), spirited the errant shopping cart back to Target and left it in one of the “corrals” they have in the parking lot for you to put your shopping cart into once you’ve unloaded your purchases into your vehicle.  As she was telling me the saga of this covert shopping cart extraction and repatriation caper, I’m cracking up, because it’s just so typical of my mom.  She’s just priceless!

I went over about noon and we worked for a couple of hours schlepping stuff out to the garage for the garage sale, and then about 1:45, I went up to Kentucky Fried Chicken and got us some, and we ate fried chicken and cole slaw and their good biscuits and watched the NCAA women’s basketball final playoffs on TV.

Today was a red lettuce day for one of our local universities (we have two).  Lubbock Christian University‘s women’s basketball team, the Lady Chaps (Chaparrals), won the division II NCAA national championship in a very exciting game against the Anchorage, Alaska, Seawolves.  The Lady Chaps are undefeated, 35-0 for the season, having won every game they played! And not to put too fine a point on it, this is the first year the Lady Chaps have played in this division.

They have some tremendous athletes on their team.  I’m not much of a sports fan, but my mom loves women’s basketball and follows the Lady Raiders (Texas Tech University, the other local university).  LCU only has an enrollment of around 2000 students (compared to 31,000 for Tech), and to field that kind of a team out of that small an enrollment is amazing.  Several LCU players were making shots from outside the 3-point line (from more than 23 feet away from the basket!) and getting nothing but net.

After the game, I came home, filled a glass with ice cubes, poured a bottle of apple juice in, and added a jigger of Harvey’s Bristol Cream (sherry).  I was hot (today’s high was in the 80’s F (26+ C)), tired (I fell asleep in the chair again), but I’ve found the card the guy gave me from before I moved. I’ll call in the morning to see if they still come haul off everything that doesn’t sell in the garage sale. . . . and see if I still have those tags I printed for garage sales that have my initials on them . . . .

