Tags

,

So, I was taking a break from transcribing this 1 hour and 12 minute magnum opus for Rev.com, that jive outfit I work for, since I don’t get enough from Social Security to live on, and I was working an Otto and Victoria puzzle that I made on Jigsaw Planet (Otto being Victoria’s pet octopus), and a stray thought drifted through: “Why do they call then tentacles if there are only 8 of them?”

Well, according to the interwebs, the word “tentacle” has nothing to do with numbers.  It comes from the Latin, tentaculum, from the verb tentare, meaning “to feel or to touch.”  Having been a medical transcriptionist for some 27 odd years (some of them odder than others), I’m familiar with a thing called a “tenaculum,” a medical instrument for holding things — from the Latin tenēre meaning “to hold, to keep,” so I felt there was bound to be a connection in there somewhere.  (BTW, in inflationary language, an enneapus has elevenicles.  I knew you’d want to know that.)

So my stray question was not, as it happened, one of life’s unanswered questions.  My favorite of life’s unanswered questions is, “Who built the Batcave (and what did they think they were building)?”

While we’re in an interrogatory vein, how is it that we managed to put a man on the moon before we figured out it would be a good idea to put wheels on luggage? Why is “bra” singular and “panties” plural?  If all is not lost, where is it?  Inquiring minds want to know.

Oh, and BTW, the next time you are beset by the Borg, remember:  Resistance is not futile. It’s voltage divided by current.

