Tags

,

When mom and I went to Pearland in 2014, coming home through Cross Plains , I caught a glimpse of a sign.  Googling confirmed what I thought I’d seen.

Cross Plains was the home of writer Robert E. Howard.  His parents’ house, where he lived and wrote, has been converted into a museum.  Howard was most famous for his character Conan the Barbarian, and is widely regarded as the father of the Sword and Sorcery literary subgenre.

When we were planning our October trip to Pearland and Round Top, I said I wanted to stop in Cross Plains on the way back and see his house.  So we did.

2015_10_26-14 2015_10_26-15There was a time in the 1970’s when I read a lot of Robert E. Howard.  I also read a lot of Michael Moorcock, Robert Silverberg, A.E. van Vogt and Roger Zelazny at that time, too, because until I discovered C. J. Cherry and Anne McCaffrey, that was about all I found interesting enough to read.  However, “Literature” from the viewpoint of white heterosexual males and their male protagonists got a bit wearing, and thank goodness I outgrew it and discovered Cherry and McCafferty, and later Tanith Lee and Ursula LeGuin.   And of course, Bear.

I can’t wait until my eleven-year-old first cousin twice removed SEL gets old enough for me to turn her on to Cherry and McCaffrey, et. al.  Like me, she is an avid reader and loves scifi and fantasy, and I’ve been making a conscious effort to send her books that feature good female protagonist who have agency because major reasons.

