Tags

, , ,

I got my BFF to come to knitting group with me last night, but we could not meet in our regular room because it was full of model trains and model trains enthusiasts!   Instead, we met in the children’s section of the library where there were tables and rather uncomfortable chairs.  I had brought my BFF to knitting group hoping that one of the members, who works for Dillard’s, would be there so I could introduce my BFF to her as my BFF is looking for a job again.  The place where she was working has eliminated her position as a cost cutting measure and at the end of the week, she will be out of a job.  My BFF can’t live on what she gets from Social Security either, so she has to find another part time job ASAP, if not sooner.

Our knitting group routinely uses a meeting room in this one branch of our city’s public library.  Since we do not pay for the use of the room, we get pre-empted whenever somebody else (i.e., paying customers) wants to reserve the room — like these model train enthusiasts.

I had brought the baby afghan to work on, and discovered that a certain black kitty — whose name is now Mud! — had chewed on my bamboo knitting needle and crunched one of the points off!  As it happens, the lady I wanted my BFF to meet was there, and her daughter was with her, as they usually come together.  Her daughter happened to have a utility knife (!) which I was able to use to whittle the needle point and repair it somewhat.  I used my nail file to file it relatively smooth and was able to knit with it, but it still snagged on fibers of the thread and it was very unsatisfactory.  The needle the little skeezix crunched the tip on was one of my Takumi bamboo needles, the US9/5.5 mm 36-inch circular one, which is a needle I use a lot. I ordered a new one just a while ago, but it won’t be here until Friday, and I need to really get cracking on that baby afghan, get it finished and get it in the mail. Fortunately, I have a 29-inch long circular needle in that same size that I can transfer the afghan over to.  The afghan is knitted on the diagonal, and I’m in the decreasing part, so the number of stitches on the needle is getting progressively smaller.

The fact that the little schmoo was able to crunch my bamboo needle point because I’m the one who left it out where he could get to it.  I had been in the habit of leaving knitting out, and he had not bothered it before, except when I was working on the bonnet for the Meadowsweet dress not long ago.  He pulled it off the reader’s table and chewed the yarn in two.  I also caught him chewing on a book that was on the reader’s table and shoo-ed him off just in time, so I should have known better.  I can probably file some more on that one needle point and maybe get it completely useable again.  I’m really miffed about it, though.

Good news, though, is that we were able to book a night at the Round Top Inn at the Gate House for our upcoming trip to Pearland in October, the plan being to stop the night in Round Top on the way back.  The thing that is so special about being able to book this particular suite is that three of the buildings that make up the Round Top Inn were once part of the Schiege Cigar Factory.  Schiege provided a house for his factory foreman to live in, which was The Gate House.  My great grandfather, Paul Helmecke, was foreman at the cigar factory until his death in 1894.  The owner of the cigar factory, Charles H. Schiege, Jr., attended the school in Round Top that was run by the Reverend Adam Neuthard, who was my great great grandfather.  Helmecke was married to one of Reverend Neuthard’s daughters, Martha Mary.  So when we go to Round Top, we will be about knee deep in my maternal grandmother’s history. It will be a fascinating experience to be in the house where my grandmother lived as a child.

Today’s earworm is brought to you by Niamh Parsons (the lady singing).  I don’t know the guy’s name.  It’s a famine song, and rather depressing, although the tune is lovely.

I love her voice.  I have the album that song’s from on my Amazon list to get when funds can be allotted.  Here’s another one of her songs I’m enamored with, equally sad, and haunting in several senses of the word.

I’m probably in such a sad mood because I got an email this morning, that the mother of one of the ladies in knitting group had died.  I had known a couple of weeks ago that she was “terminal” and that it was only a matter of time.  Although the end came fairly and mercifully quickly, it’s still sad.  And then, my dad’s birthday is the 21st.  He would have been 93.  And next month is the 1-year anniversary of his death.  Where does the time go?

Oh, lets have one more from Ms. Parson, to make it three and work the charm.

