Tags

, , , , ,

I just needed some emotional distance, I think, and one thing I knew would work was to distract myself by reading — piling the first six books of the Foreigner series by C. J. Cherryh in the way of ruminating about what happened.  “Rumination” is the $45-an-hour word for “beating yourself up over something.”   Going on a guilt trip gets you nowhere that is either healthy or productive.  I haven’t knitted since Tuesday a week ago.  I fully intended to go to knitting group this past Tuesday, ate lunch about 2 p.m., sat in the chair to read, closed my eyes for just a moment and woke up at  9 p.m.  All that missed sleep waited until I wasn’t paying attention, caught up with me, and there you have it.  Next week.

For the past week, it has been unseasonably cold and rainy.  Found out the other day that we’re having an El Niño year.  Seeing as how we’ve been in extreme drought conditions for the past 5 or so years, we’ll take the rain.  We just wish it wasn’t in such big gobs and had a little time to soak in before more comes.

Screenshot_5On The Weather Channel, there was a video that showed the water in the street in Chickasha, Oklahoma, was so deep some guy was riding around in it on a jet ski.  We’ve gotten 7.76 inches/19.7 cm of rainfall through 21 May, which is almost half our yearly average rainfall of 16 inches/40.6 cm.  Some parts of Texas and Oklahoma have had as much as 20 inches/50.8 cm of rain this month.  Unfortunately, more is on the way.  They’re talking anywhere from 1-2 inches/2.5-5.0 cm through Saturday.

Screenshot_6I had a birthday yesterday, and mom and I went out to eat.  It was sprinkling as I pulled up to her house and while we were driving over to the restaurant.  Just as we were tucking into a lovely meal, we had a cloudburst. It rained hard and fast for about 10 minutes, and by the time we were done and on our way out, it was over.  My mom gave me my favorite birthday gift, which is an autographed piece of paper that had a “$” followed by nice round numbers, so after I dropped her off at her house, I went home by way of the bank, followed by a brief stop at the post office to mail a book I sold through Amazon.   This was the front of my birthday card.  The birds are black capped chickadees (Poecile atricapillus).

img049Now I’ve got a fat black kitty trying to sleep between my knees, which is problematic since when he decides to stretch out, he pushes one or both my legs off the side of the recliner’s foot rest — which is liable to pitch me upright and dump him off onto the floor.   I think tomorrow I’ll finish the book I’m reading (Foreigner: Explorer) and I may knit some.  I might knit on the other baby afghan and binge watch season 5 of Downton Abbey.

