Tags

, ,

Perhaps it’s just as well that the kid upstairs seems incapable of walking -thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump- or of sitting quietly for any length of time. The annoyance of the periodic thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump- distracts me from the strange new silence.  I hadn’t realized how vocal the white kitty was, how constantly he filled the silence with his kvetching. -thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump- How strange to go to the bathroom and not have him barging in, climbing onto the counter and demanding that I turn the sink tap on for him to drink from.  The echoing silence that once was filled with his caterwauling every last verse of “The Mighty Hunter Song” is now almost mitigated by the thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-

I’ve started another baby afghan from a pattern I got from one of the ladies at knitting group.  -thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-  I’ve started the Lizzy Dress in a variegated yarn that has white and peach in it, and I’ve gotten it down to the stockinette part of the skirt. I think this garter diamond pattern baby bonnet, with a few modifications, will work for a bonnet for this dress. -thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump- I’ve started another baby dress in a nubby variegated yarn that is soft lavender, pink and white. -thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-   If I take the pattern stitch of this Vintage Baby Bonnet and use it instead of stockinette on the skirt, I can match the two.  I kind of need to start the bonnet –with a bunch of extra rows on the ribbed brim to give it more of a bonnet overhang over the face — so I can calculate how I’ll need to adjust the increases for the dress skirt; however, I think it will work nicely.  I need to write up my variations and put them on my knitting pattern blog. -thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump- I think I will do this Helen Joyce dress in a yellow.

Yeah, I’m going overboard, but there’s nothing a knitter likes better than an excuse to try out a pattern, and there are just so many cute patterns for a baby girl.  -thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-  Anyway, it keeps my mind off the thumpy silence.

