Tags

, , ,

. . . We’d be knee deep in it and I could package it and sell it and buy the things I want that I can’t afford.

I am not a gamer.  I’ve seen video games, I’ve heard about them, and I’m just not interested in anything I’ve heard about them, except for this game called “Journey” and from what I’ve seen and heard about it, it’s a game I would really, really, really like to play.  It’s not all that expensive at $15.  The kicker is, the game was made for Playstation 3, and there will not be a version for personal computers available.  So, in order to play the game, I would have to buy a Playstation 3, which is anywhere from $159 to well over $200 depending on which model you get and how much RAM it has.

A huge percentage of video games are about destroying things, shooting people, crashing things, and other such testosterone-laced activities (which leave me cold).  “Journey” is not.   It’s about, oddly enough, making a journey.    The game is highly rated on all parameters and has won all kinds of awards.

In the game, you have your own little character.  You start out in a desert, and your goal is to journey to the mountain top.  Your character travels by walking.  As you work through the game, you come across squares of cloth which are energy bits you can add to your “scarf” which grows longer as you accumulate more bits.  If you accumulate enough energy bits you can fly for brief periods of time, but your “scarf” shortens as you use up the energy bits.   If your PS3 is connected to the internet, you can encounter other players anonymously from time to time, if anyone is on playing and happens to be at the same place  in the game as you are.  However, you cannot communicate with them; you can only interact with them on a nonverbal level.  When you meet another player, you can help each other by “singing” which is heard in the form of a musical chime that is in tune with whatever music happens to be playing at the time.  The singer gives the other player “energy.”  You can travel together if you happen to be going in the same direction — You are continually making choices of which path you will take, and that changes the structure of the game, so the game can be different each time you play it.

This is the final cut on the game soundtrack CD, with the lyrics and their source, and has video sequences from the game.

WANT!

