Tags

, , ,

I fully intended to go to my knitting group yesterday.  Washed my hair at around 12:30, and was sitting at the computer catching up on my blog reading, winding two skeins of yarn into balls the while.  I had had a very nice lunch, and at some point I closed my eyes and nodded off.  Woke up at 6:25 — the knitting group starts at 6:30, and it’s halfway across town, I was in my “jammies” (I have two pairs of cotton pajamas which are very soft and warm which, since I sleep in my birthday jammies, I wear for around the house).  Oops! So much for my good intentions.

The yarn I was winding was “Vanna’s Choice” (Yep.  That Vanna) — a Lion Brand Yarn.  I got it because of one of the ladies, SJ, who I got to know because she and  LK, who I already knew because she is one of my mom’s friends from church, take turns driving each other to the knitting group.  When we had our knitting group Christmas party, the gift SJ picked had a knitted hat in rose pink yarn that she was delighted with.  According to the rules of the gifting, when it was your turn to choose, you could either choose an unopened gift, or “steal” a gift someone else had gotten.  As luck would have it, somebody “stole” her gift and she had to go choose another.

I felt sad for her because she had really liked the little rose pink hat, so when I was in Michael’s to get some sparkly yarn to make some scarflets, I saw the Vanna’s Choice yarn in the Rose Mist colorway and nabbed a couple of skeins of it, too.  I was getting yarn for scarflets because they’re small, quick, and easy, and the whole shebang would fit in a 1-gallon Ziplock bag that I could carry in my purse and knit on them when I went with mom to Pearland last week.   Most of the time we were there, we were sitting and talking, and you know what they say about idle hands . . .

IMG_1940Anyway, I’m doing up a little toque for SJ in the Rose Mist, making it up as I go along.  It’s not going to have cables like the one that got “stolen” did, because I couldn’t find a pattern that used the weight of yarn I wanted to use with the size 6 needles I wouldn’t have had to get up to get. . . Just at the moment, my altruism doesn’t extend to dislodging the grey kitty from her comfy ensconcement  in between my knees, removing my toasty lap robe, getting up out of my comfortable recliner and walking 10 feet over to the chest of drawers to get out a different set of needles (I don’t have very many sizes of 16-inch long circular needles anyway, I disremember exactly which sizes of needles I do have in that length, and I know for sure I have one in a size 6 because I’m looking right at it . . . ).  It’s a simple little pattern with an interesting texture; the stitch pattern is only a 4-row repeat and beginner easy.

I’m toying with the idea of starting a blog just for my knitting patterns, which I could link my Ravelry projects to.  I tried adding a page for them to this blog, but I have to put them all on that one page and can’t link to them individually.  I’ll still keep including patterns in my posts in this blog, with whatever else I happen to put in the post with it, but I need a place to individually post just the patterns without all the extraneous bloggy stuff.   I’ll have to come up with a clever name for it . . .

In other news, my transcription foot pedal, the gizmo that hooks to my computer and allows me to play dictation with my foot so I can type/edit it with my hands had been acting up lately, and this past weekend it kept getting worse and worse until Sunday, it just quit working at all.  Don’t know why.  I’ve only had it eight years.  I scoured the internet looking for one that was “plug and play” compatible and that connected to a USB port.  The cheapest one I could find was $95 (compared with $149 to as much as $229).  I found one for that price on Amazon that had Amazon Prime free 2-day shipping.  It just got here — which means, I’ve got to get out my Act of Congress, move my chair out of the way, so I can move my desk out out of the way, so I can take the peg board down that the dead foot pedal is mounted to, take it loose and mount the new one in its place (which entails taking the foot pedal apart, drilling holes in the footplate — I need to come up with a piece of scrap 2×4 lumber to use as a “backstop” — and then running wire through the holes on the foot plate, putting the foot plate back together, threading the wire through the holes in the pegboard, twisting the wires together to hold the footplate to the pegboard), then putting the peg board back in place — by 3 p.m. Friday, because that’s when I have to go to work again.  So sometime later today, I’ve got to go to Sutherland’s and get some appropriate wire because when I moved, I gave what remained of the roll of bailing wire I had used before to the guy who lived next door to the duplex and the only other wire I’ve got is florist’s wire which way too tiny.

When I got in from getting groceries and stuff Monday, my odometer read 1295.  This little outing to get “war” (and take a book I sold on Amazon to the post office) will very likely push me over 1300 miles on a car that’s not even two months old yet.  This is unprecedented.  Remember, I’m the one that had a 27-year-old car that had less than 44,500 actual miles on it . . .)  What’s more, at some point this spring, I’ll be driving with my mom over to visit my cousin who lives near Ruidoso, New Mexico (it’s only about a 4-hour drive, thankfully).  They say that what you are doing on New Year’s Day presages the rest of the year.  I like going places, but I’d just as soon not have to drive there in the ice and snow any more!.   However, mom told me yesterday that she has signed up for a “Seniors Are Special” bus trip to Chicago with one of the women she knows through the church.  I would not be at all surprised if she knows many of the other people who are going on the trip, but I’ll bet you money that by the time the trip is over, she will know everybody on the bus, whether she’s met them before or not. That sort of bear . . .

I’ll have to bundle up when I go outside.  We’re getting arctic air again like we did last week, the wind is blustery, and it’s 23F/-5C at 2 o’clock in the afternoon. (Reminding you that my city is at the same latitude as Casablanca, Morocco . . .)  I have a hard time wearing toque type hats, myself.  Something to do with the shape of my head and having a short neck.  I think I’ll make me a sort of combination tie-on hat and muffler.  It might have cables on, too . . .

