Tags

, , , , ,

2014_10_29-08Here it is November the twoth already.  Still making progress on the baby blankie.  The balls are noticeably smaller, but still pretty big.  I haven’t even got it half finished yet.  It’s going to be for a 1-year-old, and I want him to be able to use it for a while.  Still trying to finish it by Christmas, so I have less than two months to finish it.   Taking a break from it just now.   We have some beginning knitters in the knitting group and one of them wanted an easy scarf pattern, so I made her one.  Here it is.

2014_10_29-07

Arrow Scarf

 Materials: 1 skein knitting worsted yarn
Size 10 knitting needles.

Cast on: 26 stitches.
Row 1: K
Row 2. K3, yo, K9, K2tog, K to end of row.
Repeat row 2, until the scarf is as long as you want it.
Bind off.

All you have to know to make the scarf is how to cast on, bind off, knit, yarn over and knit two together.  Look, Ma! No purling!

2014_10_29-04I ordered my drapes and have already gotten them hung.  They’re “silver” — or at least that’s the color they profess to be. They have a greenish cast to them in real life, too, but they look OK with my color scheme.  They were on sale.  What can I say?    Those are “silver” napkin rings I’ve got them pulled through.  When it starts getting really cold, I’ll take the ring on the center panel off, and pull the drapes to, so the cold air doesn’t blow in.  Still haven’t gotten the fabric to make the draft dodgers yet.

2014_10_29-02I also ordered a rug for the entry way and a new rug for the kitties.  Their rug had gotten some kind of moldy grunge on the rubber backing so it’s history now.   I need to get a rug pad for the one in the entry way (see left) to make it nonskid.   Right now, I just put it down on top of the throw rug that was already there.  It’s “oriental” like the one in the living room and the dining room.  It’s also bigger than the throw rug I had there.  I’ve got to have a rug there because there’s an “imperfection” in the flooring where it’s buckled a little bit which is a tripping hazard unless it’s covered with a rug.  Also, you need a rug in the entryway to catch stuff you track in from outside.  2014_10_29-01 Here’s the kitties’ new rug.  I thought the subject matter was apropos.  It’s nubby like a hooked rug and fits my new green-blue color scheme very nicely.  Their old rug was red and brown.   I may move the rug I have in the hallway into my bedroom to put at the foot of my bed, since it matches the runners I have on either side of the bed. Or I may “recycle” it.  I haven’t decided yet.

My BFF did something to her computer and every time she tried to get on Netflix or on Google, she kept getting “Server not found” errors.  She was convinced the computer was broken and that it would cost her a zillion dollars to get it fixed and she was all upset.  I told her to bring it over.  She also somehow enabled the “voice” on her Kindle and it was”reading” everything to her and was driving her nuts, but she didn’t know how to make it quit — and she couldn’t get Netflix or Google on it either  Did I mention she’s a bit of a Luddite? She gets to poking at her Kindle and when it doesn’t do what she expects it to do,  she gets frustrated and pokes it harder . . .  Same for her laptop.  Turned out what had happened was that somehow they both “forgot” the WiFi password for her WiFi network.  No telling how she got it all discombobulated.  It was an easy fix, though.  I signed on to my network on her computer with no problems, so I knew it had to be something like that.  I followed her over to her house and got her passwords re-entered on her laptop and Kindle, and got her back on her network.  Then I made her Kindle shut up.  I don’t mind easy fixes like that.  I also don’t mind being the hero, either . . . .

I’ve got all the clocks reset now.  We have officially “fallen back” chez nous.   I wish to goodness they’d quit monkeying with the (insert expletive(s) of choice here) clocks twice a year.  Most people hate Daylight Savings time, and all it seems to accomplish is to mess with people’s circadian rhythms, and cause traffic accidents.

I’ve actually been snuffly and a little sneezy the past couple of days.  Wen I went to my well-check at the VA last month, I was surprised to find out that people have been having a hard time with their allergies this fall.   I’ve been blissfully unaware of this.   I haven’t used my inhalers since I shut the door for the last time on the duplex, and taking a Benadryl in the morning has been all I’ve needed.  In the last week or so, I’ve had to take a decongestant a couple of times, but that’s been the extent of it.  I’ve had a couple of sneezing attacks this evening — like I used to have multiple times a day every day when I lived in the duplex — and I just took a decongestant — first one I’ve taken in several days.  They’re harvesting cotton and starting to gin it now, which is what’s causing it.  Still my allergies are nowhere near as bad as they were before I moved.  This is very good.

