Tags

, , ,

I love the new Dos Equis Cinco de Mayo commercial — “Don’t rush into ‘cinco,'” the Dos Equis man* says.  Then, glancing at the the lovely women sitting on either side of him, he looks knowingly at the camera and adds, “Start with ‘dos.'”  (cinco is Spanish for 5, dos is Spanish for 2, and Cinco de Mayo (May 5th) is the Mexican equivalent of Bastille day.)

Of course, I am not, at the moment, drinking a Dos Equis. I am drinking a bottle of Guinness Draught.  (I don’t always drink beer, but when I do, I prefer Dos Equis.)

After all my exertions Thursday, I took it easy Friday, watching a bunch of episodes of “Beauty and the Beast” on Netflix.  It is, of course, a reboot of the old series starring Linda Hamilton and Ron Perlman.  The longer I watched it, the more disenchanted I became with it.  I don’t much care for the casting of either Catherine or Vincent. I was never really all that into the old series either, although I like Linda Hamilton (especially in her role in The Terminator), and I thought Ron Perlman‘s Vincent was better.  Bailed out of that series and started watching “Eureka” because of Colin Ferguson‘s Maytag commercials. “Eureka” is quirky and funny, and I like Jack Carter as a character, and Colin Ferguson’s portrayal.  I also like the character of Henry Deacon played by actor Joe Morton, Carter’s computerized house, S.A.R.A.H. ( (Self Actuated Residential Automated Habitat), which I think is hysterical, and Deputy Lupo who is played by Erica Cerra.

For $8.65 a month, a Netflix streaming subscription is very cost effective.  I can stream as many offerings (both TV series as well as films) as I want to, without commercial interruption (which is why I dropped my Hulu subscription).  Of course, some films on Netflix are not available for streaming.  Since I have a Roku device, I can watch Netflix on my TV as well as on my computer and my Kindle.  Also, as part of my Amazon Prime membership, where I get free 2-day shipping on some merchandise,  I can stream TV and film content (40,000 titles) off Amazon Prime Video through the Roku as well. As much as I buy off Amazon, that free shipping thing is worth the price of the membership fee by itself, but with the streaming video thing, even paying $3 or $4 to rent a video is cheap at the price.  You can also buy videos through Amazon Prime.  Additionally, many TV series allow you to stream at least several of the most recent episodes from their website. We are getting closer and closer to what I call buffet TV — The buffet is laid out with what’s available and you pick and choose what you like — unlike cable, where you have to pay for about 60 channels’ worth of junk to get 5 channels that at least 10% of the time show something worth watching.

I had to daddy sit Saturday, and continued watching episodes of “Eureka” after I got home.  I slept in and read most of this afternoon.  We’re in the process of having a good old-fashioned dust storm at the moment, average wind speed 38 mph/61 kph, with gusts to 54 mph/90 kph.  Don’t you know we’re riding on the Marrakesh Express . . . 

I’m being very quiet and still in hopes of avoiding an optical migraine.  This is the sort of weather that usually provokes them (13% humidity and blowing dirt).  They are not painful, only intrusive.  Since scintillating scotomata gradually take over and obscure my field of vision, that means I can’t watch TV or read or work on the computer until they clear.  Thankfully they very rarely last more than 30-45 minutes.

In other news, earlier this afternoon, I made the first pitcher of iced tea of 2014.  I can haz iced tea.  Once I make some ice.   Sumer is icumen in, Lhude sing, cuccu.

 

*The “Dos Equis Man” is the most interesting man in the world.   Among his many other attributes and accomplishments, he once parallel parked a train.  Stay thirsty, my friends.
