Tags

Well, I put it off as long as I could, but since I was to meet my BFF at her house to proceed in caravan to the shredding place at 1 p.m. Thursday, I stirred my stumps at 7 a.m. Thursday morning and headed to the storage shed.  I pulled out big plastic storage bins of manila envelopes full of records dating all the way back to 1979 and before. Got that sorted into liftable bins and loaded into the Crayola, which I had the foresight to park in the alley by the back gate (with fingers crossed that I didn’t pick up a nail or anything in my tires!). That freed another plastic bin that I brought inside and purged my big filing cabinet into.  Hefted that into the Crayola — three big plastic bins in the back seat (plus my mom’s two grocery sacks full), another plastic bin in the front seat, two of those nice boxes with lids that a case of paper (10 reams) comes in and two more boxes — which I guestimated was a bit more than 60 lbs. (Their rates: Anything up to 60 lbs was a flat fee of $15, and $0.25 per pound after that.) Then I took a shower and headed off to my BFF’s digs.

I had printed out the section of Google maps that showed how you get to the place, which is way out on the east side of town, so I more or less knew the way.  It was a relatively straight shot, as it turned out.  There was a concrete ramp up to the part of the building where the shredder was (they also have a document storage facility), and we were able to drive our cars up into the building one at a time.  The two shredder guys unloaded them for us.  What with the sheer size of waste paper I was toting, I let my BFF go first and get tallied separately.  Her 5 boxes came to 179 lbs.  Then it was my turn.  My load came to 223 lbs.  Needless to say, it cost a bit more than $15. But I was glad to be shut of it.  Delighted, in fact.  Plus I ended up with 6 empty paper boxes with lids and 4 empty plastic bins which will be perfect for moving my kitchen and bathrooms.

Now I need to get my rear in gear and start cleaning bookshelves and packing books, and throwing stuff out that needs throwing out.  I’ll do it in a minute. . .

