Tags

,

5-2008 Honey suckle without means of supportA rumble of thunder, a patter of raindrops, and then a fusillade of hail!  Didn’t get much of any of them, although we could have used more rain.  Three packages of things I’ve ordered for the new digs came today (a shower caddy, a nonskid mat for the tub/shower, and a set of wedges for my mattress).   When the first package was delivered, the FedEx person rang the doorbell, and I came and fetched it in. The FedEx person who delivered the other two didn’t bother to ring the bell. I was reading, heard the rain, and something told me I should check to see if anything else had been delivered.  Good thing.  The long, narrow box that had the shower caddy was soaked by the time I got to the door, as the FedEx person had put one end of it right where drainage comes off the roof.

Invariably, the people who deliver packages put them in the corner formed by the wall and the door.  The eave of the roof hangs over the sidewalk to the front door, and I’m sure they put it there with the intention of keeping the package out of the weather.  If all I had to contend with was the front door, it wouldn’t be a problem.  Typical of outside doors, the front door opens inward.  Equally typically, the glass storm door opens outward.  It never occurs to them that a package placed in that corner effectively acts as a wedge and keeps the storm door from opening very widely.  If the package is not very long, I can usually get the storm door open enough to get through it; but if it is too long, I have to go get a ruler, slip it under the storm door and try to poke the package back far enough away from the storm door that I can get out to get it.  On more than one occasion, however, I’ve had to go out the back door, come around the house to the front door and get the package from the outside because I couldn’t get the storm door open far enough even to get a rule underneath it.  Life is fraught with such niggling annoyances.

At the new place, I’ll have to deal with a locked mailbox, and any packages will be delivered to the leasing office, which means I’ll have to go pick them up during “business hours.”  Still, if they’re in the office, they can’t get rained on.

 

