Tags

, ,

imagesI can tell I’m under a great deal of stress.  So many irons in the fire.  I’ve been reading a lot, something I tend to do before a big change I know is coming.  It’s my version of that moment in free-fall when the cat is twisting around to get its feet into position to land, or when you’ve pushed in the clutch in order to change gears.  It’s just this thing I do to occupy my attention while my brain is in the process of shifting gears.

I’ve designated April 1-May 10 as the period to (a) decide what goes and what I’m getting rid of, (b) pack what goes, and sell or otherwise get rid of everything else.  That’s the gear I’m changing into right now.   Before I do something, I tend to do a lot of thinking about exactly what needs to happen, what tools and materials I need to make it happen, and what I need to do to make it happen. (This can be frustrating to people who don’t know how I work because I don’t look like I’m actually doing anything.  People don’t have that little spinning hourglass or circle chasing its tail GIFl on their foreheads that indicates thinking is happening!)

I think I know what furniture I’ll be keeping but, since I have the plans and dimensions of the new space, at some point here soon, I’ll be drawing rooms to scale on graph paper — preferable four squares to the inch —  and measuring furniture to see if what I want to keep is actually going to fit in the new place.  This will also come in handy when the move is actually taking place since I already know where furniture needs to go and that it will fit.

Another think I need to work out is what to do with the cats while the movers are putting stuff in the truck.   I can shut them up in the larger bathroom until the truck is packed, then let them out and leave them here while I follow the truck over to the new place.  Alternately, if I can get my office cleared out before the movers come, I can shut them up in there with their poop box, food and water. Then once the truck is unloaded, come back and get them all in carriers, which is no easy task, especially with the white one — I have to stand the carrier up with the door on top, chase him until I tire him out, then corner him, throw a towel over him, dump towel and all into the carrier and shut the door quickly.  The grey one is just generally skittish and is not going to be easy to catch either. (If I can confine them in my office, that would simplify catching them.)  Then I’ll have to load them and their accoutrements into the car and take them to the new place.

I think I can take the two big bookcases and two of the smaller ones.  I need to clear all the books out of these four bookcases, go through my books, separating them into keepers and nonkeepers, and put the keepers in these four bookcases.  As for the nonkeepers, I think I’m going to try calling my former high school and elementary school libraries and ask if they would take donations as I have some books (history, biography, poetry, literature etc.) they might can use.  If not, then the Friends of the Library will get the lot.

I’ve got to find out where I can get a bunch of documents shredded.  I have literally boxes’ worth I need to shred.

I will be able to have access to the new digs on the 16th of May, which is a Friday.  I can spend the weekend laying shelf paper, hanging curtains, etc., as well as move my kitchen stuff in my car — dishes, pots and pans, and the food in my pantry and refrigerator. Then hopefully, the movers will come on the 19th.  They’ll be able to move me in one day.

When I looked through the pictures I took of the unit they showed us (same floor plan, just flipped), I noticed there are no drawers in either of the bathrooms, and only the one cabinet under each sink.  How can you have a bathroom without any drawers? Obviously, at some point I’m going to have to get a couple of those “over the toilet” shelving units or something.  I hope I get $$$ for my birthday . . .

But before I do any of this, I need to do my income tax.

