Tags

, ,

It started with my Windows desktop weather gadget not being able to connect to the weather data feed.   At first, I thought there was some kind of technical problem with the data feed and that it would be back up in a day or two, but after it went on for about two weeks, I bit the bullet and tried downloading the Weather Channel’s large, intrusive, we will relentlessly inflict advertisement on you unless you pay us not to, app, but I couldn’t get it to take the location.  So I uninstalled it and finally “retrograded” to the Yahoo Weather Widget I had been using before I switched to the Windows 7 gadget.  The Yahoo weather widget has been working perfectly.  Then I did a Windows update and my other Windows 7 desktop gadget abruptly quit working.

In attempting to find out why, I discover that Microsoft had discovered a security vulnerability that has to do with its Windows 7 desktop gadgets.  Instead of fixing the stupid security vulnerability, in an exasperating and high-handed display of paternalistic mother henning, it has not only discontinued Windows gadgets, but the latest Windows updates uninstalled the cotton picking program! Obviously, they’re not going to spend any money on Windows 7 because they want everybody to buy Windows 8.  Security vulnerability.  Yeah.  Right.

I went to the Windows 7 desktop gadgets in the first place because they had a date/time gadget I liked that showed the time, day of the week, and date in a nice compact little format.  I liked their weather gadget better, too, so I just turned off the Yahoo date/time widget and weather widget.  Thankfully, I didn’t uninstall them, because Yahoo discontinued their widgets, too.

I was already thoroughly nongruntled about that when I called ATT. (I think my blood pressure reflexively went up 10 points when I was just dialing the number).  Since I’m not working for a medical transcription service any more (they usually have a minimum download/upload speed they require), I went back a notch on my internet speed.  I also went back a notch on my phone “minutes.”  There’s no point in paying an arm and a leg for unlimited minutes when I rarely use more than 100 minutes a month.  I switched to just paying an arm for 200 minutes a month.  That took about $50 off my bill.  I can stand that.  Since I’m going to be moving, I inquired about service in my new digs.  Guess what.  I can’t get ATT U-Verse in my new digs.  If I stick with ATT, I have to get Direct TV, which is ATT’s satellite provider.  I switched to ATT because I got tired of the satellite signal outages in high winds and whenever it rained.  Their internet connection is via DSL.  I’ve had DSL. I don’t like it.  However, I can get SuddenLink, which is a cable provider, at my new digs, and I can get all the television channels I get now, plus WiFi, plus phone service, and a DVR for about the same or a little less as my revised ATT rates — or at least I will for a year.  After that I’ll bet it goes up.  According to the guy I talked to, I get to keep my phone number, and my email addresses.   That’ll be nice not having to remember all the places I sign into where I’ve needed an email address to do it, and then changing them all.  That gruntled me a little bit, but I’m still really bummed about losing my desktop gadgets.

