Tags

,

I called the lady who used to live in A again and she answered the phone this time.  They have indeed moved out and she has had the utilities disconnected.  She says  that the water heater is inoperative and needs to be replaced.  They called and left a message for him to send money to have it replaced, and he did not reply (what a surprise!).  She is going to give me the keys sometime this weekend.  Later today (it’s 1 a.m. at the moment) I am going to call the number I have for him and leave him a message regarding the above and ask him what he wants me to do.  I am also going to search on Anywho.com and see if I can find another number for him.   I am willing to get the water heater replaced and find a new tenant, but not unless he responds to my inquiry and tells me I have his permission to do so.

Since it is highly unlikely that he will respond, I am going to have to start looking for another place to live.  I really hate to do this, because there is no way I am going to find a two-bedroom duplex as large as this and as nice as this — at least on the inside — for what I’m paying here.  That means I’ll probably have to go back to living in an apartment, since very few duplexes have only one bedroom.  Unless I can find a two bedroom apartment I can afford, I will have to find a one-bedroom place and that means I’m going to have to downsize.

Once I’ve found a place to move to, I’m going to report him to the City authorities for substandard housing as his property is not properly maintained.  If the city condemns the property, maybe that will wake him up, although it’s doubtful.

The very big downside in all this is that the places that accept cats typically will only accept two cats.  I have three.  Naturally I will try to negotiate to see if I can get them to work around their restrictions (like pay an additional pet deposit), but if I can’t, I don’t know what I’ll do.  I hate the thought of having the white one put down (since at 16, he’s the oldest) so I can move into a place where the owner keeps it well maintained.  It’s highly unlikely I can get a shelter to take him since he is virtually unadoptable.  I don’t know that I can do it.  Then again, I don’t know if I’ll have a choice.  Stay tuned.

I’m going to start calling apartments tomorrow, too.  Needless to say, I am having very unkind thoughts about my absentee landlord.

