Tags

, , , ,

It’s 18 F/-7.7 C at the moment, heading for a low of 6 F/-14.4 C and was snowing kinda sorta when I looked out an hour ago.

IMG_1110Finished pair of socks for my BFF who is incredibly cold natured.  She wears socks, heavy pajamas and sleeps under blankets in the dead of summer.  To be fair, between hemochromatosis, hypothyroidism, and all the anxiolytics and antidepressants she’s taking, her metabolism is pretty messed up.

IMG_1116Yesterday, I pulled out one of my penannular brooches to keep my shawl closed over my chest.  It’s one of the ones I got hereThe guy who runs the site does SCA and re-enactor stuff from a number of historical periods.  His work is of good quality and quite reasonably priced.  The one I’m wearing is the fourth up from the bottom.  Works great.  Don’t know why I didn’t think of using it weeks ago.  The ring part is 2-1/4 inches across.  I have some bigger ones, but they’re too heavy,weight-wise, to use with a knitted shawl.  This is the 9-blade pinwheel shawl I made.

10-05-2008 Now you don't Cropped

October 2008

2013_02_03-1

February 2013

IMG_1113I wear my hair in a pony tail most of the time, right at the top of the back of my head, and I use a flat barrette rather than an elastic so that my pony tail will lie flat against my head when I rest my head on the back of the chair.  Yesterday, when I got dressed, I had to pull my pony tail out from under my bra band in the back.  That makes it officially the longest my hair’s ever been in my entire life. It’s almost to my waist when it’s down.   The last time my hair was cut was just before I had rotator cuff surgery on my left shoulder in October of 2008 and I got it cut very short, because I knew my left arm was going to be out of commission for at least a month after the surgery and I couldn’t even comb my hair with one hand, let alone wash it one-handed.  I had ten inches cut off and donated it to Locks of Love — which I would have done anyway even if I hadn’t gotten a free haircut for doing it.  This is how long it was in February of this year, which was 4+ years’ growth.  When I wash my hair and let it air-dry (which I do habitually — my hair’s too fine and fly-away as it is), I get corkscrew curls.  Alas, they don’t survive the first time I comb it.  IMG_1107

The grey kitty has been acting in a supervisory role as of late (speak of the devil) and seems to think she needs to walk on my chest.  Of course, when she does that, it’s a good thing I’m a touch typist . . .

*The phrase is currently used for almost all the many meanings of the word “cold”: e.g. chilly, unfeeling, unconscious, dead.

