Tags

, , ,

This morning, I woke up covered in cats.  The black one lying on my feet, the grey one curled up against my back.  I can’t watch TV without the black one lying on my legs.  If I’m sitting somewhere, the white one comes and sleeps on my feet.   The grey one is curled up between my knees as I sit here, and has been for over an hour.  Now I need to get up.  NEED to get up.  But, I don’t want to disturb her.

This morning, I finished a reread of a book called “Laura.”  It’s a detective novel written by Vera Caspary that was first published in 1942.  It was made into a film in 1944, staring Gene Tierney, Dana Andrews, Clifton Webb, and a very young Vincent Price in his break-out role. I saw the film years and years ago, saw it again on Turner Classic Movies or some such cable channel, and discovered it was based on a book.  Naturally, I hunted down the book, read it, thoroughly enjoyed it, and kept it as worthy of a reread (this last reread was my third).  One of the outstanding things about the film is Laura’s theme from the movie sound track. It has a delightful melody.  I’ll bet you’ve heard it.  If you haven’t, here’s the soundtrack version with some stills from the film:

In 1945, the sound track was adapted into a song, “Laura,” which has been recorded by a whole host of musicians, both then and now.  Here’s Carly Simon‘s version from her album “Film Noir

One of the things I liked about the book (and the film) was the way the romantic triangle between three of the main characters, Tierney, Webb and Price, developed into a “quadrangle”  with the introduction of Dana Andrew’s character.  As hugely famous as he later became, it was also interesting to me to see Vincent Price , who was relative unknown at the time, (and sporting a southern accent!) in his first big role.   Oddly enough, I felt the juiciest part was not Tierney’s as the beautiful Laura, nor Price as her fiancé, nor Andrews as the hard-boiled cop, but Webb’s role.  Webb resisted the temptation to slather it on.  His understated performance was what made the film for me.

