Tags

, , ,

Read today where the Mars rover Curiosity tweeted a happy birthday to Ray Bradbury, who would have been 92 on August 22nd (he died June 5th at the age of 91), and then named it’s landing spot “Bradbury Landing.”   Bradbury wrote, among many other wonderful things, The Martian Chronicles.  So apt that Curiosity’s landing site was named for Bradbury because it was his lifelong curiosity about any and everything that drove his wonderful writing.  He is one of my most favorite authors. Too cool. (Yeah, I know Curiosity is being put up to doing all this tweeting stuff by its “handlers,” but its still cool.) (P.S., getting tweets from Curiosity might almost make it worth joining Twitter (AKA “Fritter”) which otherwise is such a vacuous, time wasting bunch of narcissistic nonsense. Every time I hear about tweeting, I think of the birds in the comic strip Peanuts whose dialog consisted of nothing but exclamation points, or of the incessant chipping of sparrows.)

Got a new toy today.  My Creative Zen MP3 player is going on 6 years old.  On the plus side, it does have a 20 GB hard drive. On the other hand, it was designed to run with Windows XP.  Needless to say, it does not get along at all well with Windows 7.  I was having increasing difficulty with Rhapsody locking up, and problems with downloading music to it.    However, it’s gotten to the point where Rhapsody went off and left it, upgrade wise.   Finally, I bit the bullet and got a SanDisk Sansa Fuse+ 8GB little MP3 player doodad, which has a card slot that they tell me will take a 32 GB memory expansion card.   I’ll find out when the card gets here next week — They were out of stock when I bought the card, but I just got an email saying they’d gotten more, and mine is due to arrive the 28th.  If it will take the 32 GB card, that’ll give it 40 GB of memory, twice what the Zen had.  We’ll see.

The Sansa Fuse cost about 1/6th what the Zen cost, even including the cost of the extra memory card, and is about 1/3 the size of it.  I’m in the process of downloading things to it now.  Haven’t listened to anything on it yet.

On the kitty front, two photos to share.  The grey one found a napping target of opportunity in the two hoses/hosepipes I’ve bought to replace the two in the back.  (I’ve still got to put up the hose racks — two in the back and one in the front, but I need to pick up some silicon gel to go around the screws as they’ll be screwing into brick.) There’s a heavy paper label that occupies the “hole” in the hose, which is what she’s lying on.  Some time after these pictures were taken, the holes in the paper where the ties go through pulled out and dumped her rather unceremoniously deeper into the coil of hose than she cared to go.  Still, it seems to have been good while it lasted.

