Tags

It seems like every week my mom is copying me on an email regarding one of her friends/acquaintances who has died.  I got one last week and this week I’ve gotten two so far.  My mom will turn 88 this year.  She’s very healthy for a woman her age, which is the problem.  She’s outliving all her friends.  On top of that, she’s caring for my dad, the love of her life, who is slowly but surely fading.  Thankfully, she does have some friends who are around my age, she is close to some of her nieces and nephews, and she’s in some social clubs but still, it worries me.

My mom is a people person.  She loves going and doing, entertaining and being part of things.  Converse with her for half an hour and she’ll know all about you, what you do for a living, what you do for fun, the people in your life and their names.  (It drives my brother crazy when she does that to his friends — he sees it as prying. )  Over the years, she’s built up this social support system of women and couples, and now it’s falling to pieces around her ears.   The only thing I can do about it is to be there for her.  It’s a role I’m going to have to get used to.

