Tags

, , , , ,

My friend has gotten the fence fixed, and Friday the yard guys totally cleaned up the yard, including the piles of branches by the eastern fence.  They also blew all the leaves off my front flower bed.  Now bare dirt is exposed, and whatever watering I do, most of it will evaporate. I may have to break down and get a bag of mulch — assuming I can find a job.

Still no sign of my paycheck or my income tax refund.  Still no job.  Monday I’m calling that jerk in HR at my old job and yank his chain about my paycheck.   I also need to call the social services lady at the VA and see what social services are available.

Going back on the higher dose of my medication is starting to work.  Saturday was a busy day.  I washed, dried, folded and put away two loads of clothes and washed a full load of dishes in the dishwasher.  I cooked some egg noodles and combined them with two cans of Wolf Brand Home Style Chili to make a chili casserole. (And I actually cleaned up the dishes after each dish instead of just letting them sit for later.)  I had a big old blop of the chili casserole on two pieces of toasted English toasting bread with Sargento Mexican Four Cheeses sprinkled on top and melted.

About the English toasting bread, I don’t know where they get the “English,” but as for the toasting, the slices are thinner than “regular” bread, about 1/4 inch thick instead of 1/2 inch. The bread also has a fine grain to it, so it toasts crisper.  I like crisp toast.  I like to let it cool before I spread on the margarine so the margarine doesn’t melt.  If I wanted the margarine melted, I’d make “gooshy toast,” i.e., spread bread with margarine and put it under the broiler.   Different strokes for different folks. (So on and so on and sku be du be du be. . . )

After I made the chili casserole, I made some of that cranberry Jello mousse thing like I made for Christmas, which uses a package of cranberry flavored Jello, a small tub of Cool Whip and a can of whole berry cranberry sauce.  (dissolve the Jello in 1-1/2 cup boiling water, mix in Cool Whip then mix in the cranberry sauce, pour into a dish and refrigerate until set.)  I have to use the hand mixer and it’s a challenge to keep it from slinging stuff all over everywhere when I’m blending the Cool Whip and cranberry sauce into the Jello, but it’s tangy and good.  I had some for dessert after lunch today.  I think later on in the week, after I’ve finished the chili casserole, I might make some tuna salad.

Saturday morning, I finished All the Windwracked Stars, by Elizabeth Bear.  Elizabeth Bear is number 2 on my top ten favorite authors.  I love the way she uses words, and the way her prose reads.  Her stories suck you in and won’t let you go.  Saturday evening, I finished The Moor, the next in the Mary Russell series by Laurie R. King.  I really like her Mary Russell character and I like the dynamic she sets up between Mary Russell and her husband.  I want to read some of her other books.  I may end up having to get them in dead tree editions (used paperbacks) as the Kindle edition are pricey.

My BFF is coming over later tonight for a TV night.  We have new episodes of Merlin, and NCIS to watch, and we’ll probably squeeze in a couple of Warehouse 13 episodes.

