Tags

,

In another post, I mentioned a 10-bladed pinwheel pattern I downloaded from Ravelry, but that I like the number 9 better than I like the number 10.  I also mentioned that I was working out a pattern for a 9-bladed pinwheel blanket.  I’m pleased to report that the pattern is working successfully and that the loss of a “blade” has not caused it to cup.  As promised, I’m posting the pattern.

Caveat:  Because I knit continental style (holding the yarn in my left hand),  I knit fairly loosely — If a pattern had a stitch gage on a size 6 needle, I would have to use a size 5 to get the gage.  If you are a tight knitter, you may get some cupping.

This pattern doesn’t have a gage because it doesn’t matter what size yarn or needles you use.  I’m using a regular 4-ply knitting worsted on size 6 (4.25 mm) needles.  Once it got too big for the double pointed needles, I went to a 16-inch circular needle, then to a 29 inch circular needle, and now I’m using a 48-inch circular needle, because I want it to be 60 inches in diameter.   The above picture is in the middle of knitting it off the 29-inch needle and knitting it onto the 48-inch needle.  (I bought 48-inch needles in several sizes because that’s the length you need to do mobius knitting, but they’re coming in handy for other things too. )

Below is what it looks like so far.  It’s about half the size I want it to be.  That’s the grey kitty’s head for scale.  To finish it off, I think I’ll do 2 rows of single crochet and then do “dense” shells with 9 double crochets in the shell instead of the usual 6.I’ll update this post later with a picture of the finished shawl and a closeup shot of the edging.

Nine Bladed Pinwheel

Materials:  A set of 4 double pointed needles, several lengths of circular needles, all the same diameter, and a row marker.  Yarn of choice.

Gage:  This pattern doesn’t have a gage as it doesn’t matter what size needles you use or what size yarn you use.  You just keep working the pattern until the piece is as big as you want it.

Pattern:
Cast on 6.  Working in round:
Row 1: Knit 6 and place row marker.
Row 2:  Knit 1, yo, knit 2, yo, knit 2, yo, knit 1. (9 stitches)
Row 3:  Knit
Row 4:  Knit 1, yo * (18 stitches)
Row 5:  Knit
Row 6:  Knit 2, yo*
Row 7:  Knit.
Row 8:  Knit 3, yo*
Row 9:  Knit.
Row 10:  Knit 4, yo*

Etc.

Crocheted Shell Edging:

Row 1: Sc in each K, sl st to join.
Row 2: Sc 1 in each sc, sl st to join.
Row3:  Ch 1 (skip 1 sc, 6(or 9) dc in next sc, skip 1 sc, sc in next sc)* sl st to join, bind off.

